Song of the Day, June 18: My Soul My Soul by Richard Thompson

RTMySoulToday’s song is My Soul, My Soul by Richard Thompson. It appears on 2005’s Front Parlour Ballads, one of the finest albums in his long, illustrious career. The disc began as a test of new home studio equipment but quickly evolved into a wonderful set of songs that serve as a perfect overview of Thompson’s lyrical and musical themes. Unlike most of his later work the tracks are driven more by acoustic than electric guitar, nicely demonstrating the depth of his virtuosity.

My Soul, My Soul is a dark song of romantic obsession. The object of the singer’s affection is blind to his desires, and he notes her every minor action as he wishes his love could be requited. The bursts of electric guitar serve as a nice accent to the driving acoustic work, and Thompson’s voice is in fine form as his vocals simmer with tension.

Enjoy this compelling song today.

About Robert Hulshof-Schmidt
Freelance writer, researcher, online comic vendor, and project manager. Fan of a wide range of music -- especially folk and 80s pop -- vintage comics, British TV, and LGBT fiction.

2 Responses to Song of the Day, June 18: My Soul My Soul by Richard Thompson

  1. Valerie Grimes says:

    I have a lot of Richard Thompson’s songs but I didn’t have this one. I like it.

Leave a comment

RBHSWebComics

all contents © Robert Hulshof-Schmidt

Top40weekly

The Weekly US Top 40 1955-2023

Major Spoilers - Comic Book Reviews and News

We know you love comics. We do, too.

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Greatest British Songs

The best songs from British bands and artists

Social Justice For All

Working towards global equity and equality

The Falcon's Nest

The Home of All Things Rock and Sometimes Roll